Sustainable Halo

A bird does not sing because it has an answer. It sings because it has a song. – Chinese Proverb

The Impossible Dream September 27, 2009

Filed under: Inspirations — Simple Jess @ 11:12 am

We have all had our experiences with medical institutions and doctors. While I appreciate the importance of them I am much more appreciative of the explosion of alternative choices there are out there. I have never been comfortable going into a hospital or doctor’s office, few of us are, but it was the birth of my first son that really sent me spinning and on a journey of self exploration. I had been pushed into a c-section and was left feeling bitter that my Son and my Self had been cheated. It led me on a mission to make sure I gave myself the best chance of having a v-back, vaginal after c-section, and I did a lot of soul searching and physician research. I was able to position myself for success and had an entirely different experience the second time around. My second Son and I were able to enjoy the natural bonding of skin to skin and suckling immediately. Wow, what a difference.

This is what began an entirely new way of thinking for me. There was a wise woman in me somewhere saying, “Go with this. You are on the right track.” If I had followed my intuition the first time around things would have gone much differently. I would have stood up for myself and my baby. So I now know so much more and move through life with a lot more courage and confidence. When it comes to parenting my children I follow what my intuition tells me is right, not the spinning wheel of regurgitation in my mind.  I listen to my heart and my soul.  Do I still misstep? Of course. I keep moving forward.

I have learned to really allow the Divine Spirit to move through me and to make life much less about me. I have ceased my efforts to conform to a quick to fix and entitled society. I have the courage to just live my truth and to humbly be a part of a much larger interest. It has been a progress of steady, sometimes rapid and sometimes slow, growth. I KNOW that I am doing what is right for me and there is a lot to be said for that. I do not KNOW that what I am doing is in the best interest of others because it is so much bigger than me but I am filled with a satisfaction and believe that I am making a difference. I want so badly to make a difference. I want to see this world better: to see families come together, to see children respected, to see people love themselves, to see people viewing themselves as brothers and sisters instead of isolating themselves in their cocoon of modern convenience, to see people feed themselves whole and natural foods, to see them understand that they do have control over a large portion of their health and well being.

As I have continued my exploration of holistic health, which derives from hologram and means the whole or entire thing, I have increasingly gained courage and have found myself really stepping away from the programmed mindset Americans seem to be finding themselves in. My gratitude is infinite. When I began my research on Charlotte Gerson and eventually interviewed her I found myself drawn to her Institute, a historic home in downtown San Diego, and the wonderful women who work there. The have a big table lunch every day, serve the Gerson diet and generously offer those who inquire to join them. They have a library of books that they allowed me to sift through as I prepared for my interview with Charlotte. There was a photo album of her 87th birthday party and it held an insert from The Man From La Mancha (1972.)

“The Impossible Dream”

To dream the impossible dream
To fight the unbeatable foe
To bear the unbearable sorrow
To run where the brave dare not go

To right the unrightable wrong
To love pure and chaste from afar
To try when your arms are too weary
To reach the unreachable star

This is my quest
To follow that star
No matter how hopeless
No matter how far

To fight for the right
Without question or pause
To be willing to march into Hell
For a heavenly cause

And I know if I’ll only be true
To this glorious quest
That my heart will lie peaceful and calm
When I’m laid to my rest

And the world will be better for this
That one woman, scorned and covered with scars
Still strove with her last ounce of courage
To reach the unreachable star.

This really captures Charlotte and it is everything I want to be. If this can describe my life then I will be fulfilled. Let us all dream the impossible dream. We all have one and to not pursue it is very sad. But to pursue, in any way we can is the most beautiful thing.

Love and light,
Jess

 

2 Responses to “The Impossible Dream”

  1. […] Nagel presents The Impossible Dream posted at Sustainable Halo, saying, "Considering alternative […]

  2. […] Nagel presents The Impossible Dream posted at Sustainable Halo, saying, “Jess writes about the importance of opening up to and […]


Comments are closed.