Sustainable Halo

A bird does not sing because it has an answer. It sings because it has a song. – Chinese Proverb

Michael Jackson September 14, 2009

Filed under: Tough love — Simple Jess @ 1:24 am

It has taken me awhile to approach this topic because I just wanted to allow it the respect it deserves. I feel like I should now speak about it.

When I was about 7 years old, Michael Jackson was my first boyfriend. I had the biggest crush on him. I mean, I had baseball player type cards of him and listened to his music constantly. I would staunchly stand up for him in school, on the playground or out in my neighborhood when other kids made fun of him. I took personal offense when other kids said he looked like a drowned rat. I wonder now where they heard that from. Perhaps their parents? I had many other experiences with his music as I grew up.

I remember watching the music awards and when he accepted his award he was wearing sunglasses, which seemed to be his only form of protection from the world. My father said, “Oh, he’s just on drugs and is hiding his eyes.” How irresponsible is that? My sister and I were crushed. I vividly recall our night in bed. We prayed and prayed for Michael Jackson and prayed that he was not on drugs. We stood up for him in the best way we knew how.

His genius talents transformed into an artistic expression of a desire to have peace and unity. It was a battle cry born from a life of isolation that sought out a better day. He progressed but society did not. His fans listened but could only do so much.

This leads me to my claim:

Be careful about what you say around your children. Do not push your own weak agendas on them. Our children are innocent and project the most brilliant light available in human form. When we become adults we are somehow expected to “grow up” and become “mature” but all I see going on is an overwhelming growth of selfish and judgmental junk. Do not get me wrong, there is good. But too many people are not standing up for what is good in life and when we put someone down because we want to fit in with what we think is normal, we are not living up to our potential.

Michael Jackson is the ultimate Buddhist or Christian parable lived out in modern time. What an example! Can we not see how screwed up society is from this alone? When will we learn? Love, kindness and acceptance is key.

I am sad tonight and pray again for Michael Jackson who ended up on many drugs and very, very lonely.

Love and light,
Jess

