Sustainable Halo

A bird does not sing because it has an answer. It sings because it has a song. – Chinese Proverb

We’re the Chipmunks August 22, 2009

Filed under: Adventure!,Sewing the Seeds — Simple Jess @ 3:23 pm

I found myself looking at my children and wondering, “What should we do now?”  This is a question that many a mother asks herself now and then.  Its like you have writer’s block and cannot coax one more creative thought out of your head.  They look at you with a look like, “Come on, Mommy…you are the best.  What’s next?”  Only a little bit of pressure there, right?

So on this particular occasion I figured we needed a change.  Since moving to the island, we rarely use the car for anything and while we are very grateful for that sometimes it is just nice to go for a drive.  I tucked them into their car seats and looked through my childrens’ CDs.  We settled on Alvin and the Chipmunks: Undeniable.  It has some really cute cover songs like 3 Little Birds, All the Small Things and Acceptance.  You can also rock to Livin’ on a Prayer, Shake Your Groove Thing and Undeniable.  One of my personal favorites is the cover of Don’t Stop Believin’ from Journey…its a flash back with a childish and silly twist.

We took off down the Strand and the California sun was blazing.  We were rocking to the music and I could not help but smile: like really, really wide.  I thought about how funny it would be if this were just me, without my kids.  I probably would not have done that.  My children bring such a pure and quickly oscillating energy to my life that I am so grateful for.  Sure it can be frustrating at times but it is a gift, one that I am truly grateful for.  So we were intoxicated with Chipmunk fun for about 15-20 minutes.  The ocean was calm and the breeze was blowing through the windows as we cruised along the Strand.  This was a memorable time and I suggest you all find these moments as often as you can.  Its the gift that comes with life, this purely creative and joyful opportunity that presents itself now and then.  Don’t miss it because you are so caught up the daily grind.  Pay attention and be aware of the energy when it picks you up in its swell…live it out!

Love and light,

Jess

