Sustainable Halo

A bird does not sing because it has an answer. It sings because it has a song. – Chinese Proverb

Vegetable Casserole August 7, 2009

Filed under: Food, Food, Food! — Simple Jess @ 4:54 pm

I got this recipe from Healing the Gerson Way by Charlotte Gerson and Beata Bishop and provide my variations at the bottom.

20 minutes prep

1 hour bake

onions, sliced

tomatoes, sliced

leeks, sliced

potatoes

zucchinis

peppers

carrots

Using a heavy saucepan with a tight-fitting lid, slice a layer of either onions, tomatoes or leeks (or all three) and put layer in the bottom of the pan.  Take an assortment of sliced, chopped or cubed vegetables and put layers in until about 3/4 full.  Add a little purified water if needed.  Cover with lid.  Cook gently for 45 minutes or until done.

I vary this a bit and sprinkle with Organic Dulse Granules, a sea vegetable.  I also add a bit of fresh rosemary and thyme from my garden.

I prefer red peppers to green.

Everything should be organic but if you must make an exception, do it with the onions.

Love and light,

Jess

 

One Response to “Vegetable Casserole”

  1. […] mind as it is attached to the idea of home cooked food and associates it with love.  Here is a recipe I got from Healing the Gerson Way by Charlotte Gerson and Beata Bishop. Depending on what your […]


Comments are closed.