Sustainable Halo

A bird does not sing because it has an answer. It sings because it has a song. – Chinese Proverb

Summer is in the Air! July 18, 2009

Filed under: Inspirations,Mind, Body and Spirit,Nature — Simple Jess @ 11:25 pm

Earlier this year I wrote a post titled Spring is in the Air. I wrote about a sad experience that I had in my Virginia house. In short, someone killed my praying mantis and it was devastating! When I wrote that post I was really mourning the loss of all of the plants, squirrels, birds, etc. that I was moving away from and hoping that they were taken good “green” care of after my departure to San Diego.

I was going into the unknown: moving my family to the other far side of this nation and leaving the safety net of familiarity. I would like to update those who care to know that I have received confirmation that its all good:) Prepare yourself for a bit of mushy and possibly flaky waxing on about what makes my heart swell.

I have my tomato plants growing in the hot summer sun up on our rooftop deck and this morning I went out to water them. It would have been so easy to miss, as is usual with a praying mantis, this very little creature resting neatly on a twisted vine of my plant. Upon closer inspection I noticed that it was missing one of its long hind legs, making me love him even more. I have immediately become protective of my new little friend and hope that he lives a happy life up on our deck.

As the sun was setting tonight, I wandered up there for one last look at it. It had moved to a new position and just sat there looking at me. There was no fuss when I bent in close for a good look. It was calm and collect. This is therapeutic to me. Why? I do not really know. I do know that I take great pleasure in the simple things in life and the presence of this creature is epic to me.

What do you find to be epic in the saga of your life? What speaks to your heart? Whatever it might be, give it some attention and love because I am sure that if you do that you will see it flower somewhere else in your life. I think that is why meditation is so great. It is an opportunity to focus in on nothing and let yourself flow with the simplicity of life. Tonight, I will go to my roof and meditate before bed. I think my little green friend will enjoy the company and I will nurture my spirit.

Be sure to tune in every week during the month of August, as I will be presenting my Summer Cancer Prevention series of articles, including an Interview with Charlotte Gerson, daughter and protege of renowned cancer healer Max Gerson, MD!

Love and light,
Jess

 

3 Responses to “Summer is in the Air!”

  1. […] Nagel presents Summer is in the Air! posted at Sustainable Halo. Jessica meets a new little friend at her new […]

  2. […] Nagel presents Summer is in the Air! posted at Sustainable […]

  3. […] Nagel presents Summer is in the Air! posted at Sustainable […]


Comments are closed.