Sustainable Halo

A bird does not sing because it has an answer. It sings because it has a song. – Chinese Proverb

Liquid Fast July 9, 2009

Filed under: Celebrate,Food, Food, Food!,Sewing the Seeds — Simple Jess @ 10:23 am

The 4th of July weekend was action packed for our family and from the parade to friends and family to the fireworks, it was a joyous time. The weather was consistently perfect and Sunday night we packed a picnic and strolled a couple of blocks over to Spreckels Park for the free concert. This week The Stilletos were performing and they were GREAT! I mean GREAT!! If you click on the link of their name it will take you to their myspace page and you can listen to some of their music for free.

By husband’s parents were visiting and Graham had so much fun dancing with Grandma Nagel and Papa Bob. Heck, even I had a couple of dances with Papa Bob and boy can he move! Brad, who never dances, even took a spin on the grass with his Mom and it was so cute I just wanted to eat him up right there. I cannot say enough about these weekly concerts and how fun they are for all ages.

But the party has to end sometime, right? So now, after all of the excitement and activity has died down a bit, I am taking a day to liquid fast. All I do is fresh press juices and drink herbal tea. They provide me with plenty of the energy I need to run around with toddlers all day and also cleanse my system, giving it a break from food so it can catch up and clean up.

A couple of my favorite juice recipes are:

1 lemon
hunk of ginger
2 or 3 apples
several stalks of kale, swiss chard, collard greens or spinach (kale being my favorite)
head of romaine lettuce or 2 big cucumbers

This is SO ENERGETIC!

or

6 or 7 yellow and white peaches, white apricots…whatever combination preferred (I prefer these to be straight from the farmers market but the organic selection at your grocery store will work)
3 peeled oranges
hunk of ginger
1 lemon
6 or 7 stalks of kale, swiss chard, collard greens or spinach

This is very cleansing and sweet tasting, a definite treat.

or

1 Water melon, with the rind removed and cut in chunks for juicer
6 cucumbers
hunk of ginger or bundle of mint (whatever is preferred)

This is the most refreshing drink after being out in the heat!

If you have any questions about juicing, these recipes, or anything else, please go the About Us page at the top right and there is a box for comments!

If you would like to read some recommendations I have for juice fasting, click here!

Now I am off to the park to interview sitters for the boys!

Be sure to tune in every week during the month of August, as I will be presenting my Summer Cancer Prevention series of articles, including an Interview with Charlotte Gerson, daughter and protege of renowned cancer healer Max Gerson, MD!

Love and light,
Jess

 

2 Responses to “Liquid Fast”

  1. […] thought about doing a liquid fast? Jessica shares her experience and recipes over at Sustainable […]

  2. […] and light, Jess Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Liquid Fast   Leave a Comment […]


Comments are closed.