Sustainable Halo

A bird does not sing because it has an answer. It sings because it has a song. – Chinese Proverb

Music and the way it makes us feel… April 28, 2009

Filed under: Inspirations — Lauren @ 5:02 pm

Jess, I just logged in to write a little something about music and the way it makes us feel and lo and behold, YOU, have just written about how an artist makes you feel…pretty crazy!

This note is coming from a place full of emotion.  Truth be told, I’m having one of those days when things just don’t seem to fall into place and one after the other starts to add up and really get to you.  With wonderful reminder that everything is going to be ok and a “whistle while you work” attitude, I’m just about back to myself and am letting go of that which stirred me up in the first place.

First, it was The Submarines – a husband and wife couple, she’s so cheery and sings the best line of all times, “When our hearts are full we need much less.”

Then, Carrie Underwood, “Let’s get out of this town” – I used to listen to this song certain I could convince Morgan to run away with me rather than leave for extended periods of time…I was wrong but the hope helped me get through.

Billy Currington – LOVE him, singer of songs full of love, hope and joy

Leann Wommack – I am such a sentimentalist, “I found it in you” is one of the all time sweetest songs

Gary Allan’s “Still Learning How to Bend” – the anthem for young love

Sara Bareilles (yep, the one that sings, I’m not going to write you a Love Song” – “Fairytale” is phenomenal

Special shoutout to Leland Grant for his song “Noone Gets Left Behind” – breathtaking and emotional http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bBRRLLdwGbg

Still, there are few things that reach deeper into the soul than the voices of Pat Monahan, Gavin DeGraw and Chris Martin – seek them out if you do not already know them.  I suppose in sharing this, more than wishing to influence what moves you, I encourage you to find what moves you then enjoy every note and every lyric because music speaks to the soul.

I would be foolish if I didn’t mention one of my new favorite artists – Lady Gaga – she’s loved by many as evidences by her itunes and Billboard status.  Still, I was able to bond with new friends at a wedding reception this weekend while dancing to “Just Dance” and “Poker Face”.  I believe it’s impossible to dance without smiling.

SO, crank up the tunes and dance around or find the depth you need in an emotional tune and experience the way it makes your soul feel.

XOXO, Lauren

