Sustainable Halo

A bird does not sing because it has an answer. It sings because it has a song. – Chinese Proverb

David Archuleta – American Idol April 28, 2009

Filed under: Inspirations — Simple Jess @ 4:30 pm

Okay, I am stepping out on a limb here! A lot of my friends are really into music and enjoy various alternative styles. I still love Radio Head, Peter Gabriel, Blind Melon, Fugazi, Cold Play, Ani DiFranco…

But there is a side of me that lives between Broadway and New Orleans. I LOVE music, the arts, cinema and all things artistic. There is something about a really special singer, though, that reminds me of singing songs with my sister. As kids, we had very little activity prepared by our parents. We were expected to go outside and entertain ourselves in the summer…be home by dinner and to not get into trouble. But at night, we got really creative as a family. We would color, play cards and I used to create my own board games out of old boxes we had received Christmas presents in. It does not get more Eco than that, right?

But one of our favorite activities, my sister and I, was to sing songs in rounds. She is 5 years older than me, had boyfriends and was often in high school plays while I was trying to make do with old barbies (cutting off all their hair and coloring it with markers to make them “punk,”) riding my bike all over town (small town in Iowa,) playing with my homemade board games and paper dolls cut out of my grandmothers catalogs, babysitting for money and participating in every sport known to our small town, just to come home and jam to Amy Grant records.

My sister would come home with wonderful songs from plays, like Hello Dolly, and I would help her practice her lines and we would sing. We always sang, preferably in rounds. But that did not stop us from singing Whitney Houston while doing the family dishes, she is the soprano to my alto. We made fun out of mundane chores and the simple life.

It may seem that I have digressed a bit, but the point I am trying to make is that I really appreciate a good vocal performance and I still carry with me a little Sound of Music.

For me, David Archuleta is a modern example of someone using their talents to inspire and is a throw back to a time when I swooned over Amy Grant records.

I listened to his itunes downloads throughout my pregnancy with Peter and also during labor…he has a very special place in my heart. His first album, David Archuleta, following up his Idol appearances, first struck me as the David that I love but a bit teenage market driven. But the more I listened to it, it was David! The song To Be With You is particularly special. It makes me think of my children and the process of growing, birthing and raising babies. My appreciation of his music begins with the song You’re the Voice, which he covered on American Idol. This was one of the judges least favorite songs. I usually agree with the judges, particularly Simon. But he tore David apart for that song choice and suggested that it was made by someone else. David replied, with his usual common sense approach, “No, I just really like that song.” He always has such a humble, sensitive and genuine reaction to the attention he garners and that is one of the reasons I adore him so much.

So You’re the Voice stuck with me, even though it was clearly not a chart topper. I was pregnant with Peter and I used to listen to it in the bath tub to connect with my baby and sooth my restless legs. So it was only natural that I listened to it over and over during Peter’s birth. This relaxation was actually a factor in my being able to deliver VBACK, so David Archuleta holds a very special place in my heart and if this post speaks to you, you should at least listen to his craft a few times and give it a chance, if you haven’t already.

Love and light,
Jess

